Flood Mitigation Assistance

FMA is authorized by Section1366 of the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968, as amended (NFIA), 42 U.S.C. 4104c, with the goal of reducing or eliminating claims under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). FMA was created as part of the National Flood Insurance Reform Act (NFIRA) of 1994. The Biggert-Waters Flood Insurance Act of 2012 (Public Law 112-141) consolidated the Repetitive Flood Loss and Severe Repetitive Loss grant programs into FMA. FMA funding is available through the National Flood Insurance Fund (NFIF) for flood hazard mitigation projects as well as plan development and is appropriated by Congress. For more information on the FMA program please see the 2015 HMA Guidance below.


FMA 2021 Fact Sheet


Webinar Events:

Check back here for updates on dates and times for upcoming OES webinars.

Join the Hazard Mitigation Outreach email notification list for upcoming webinars, deadlines, and notices of funding opportunities.


FMA Subapplication Process:

You must submit a Notice of Interest (NOI) to Cal OES to be eligible.

Approved NOIs will result in an invitation to submit a full FMA subapplication via FEMA’s web-based FEMA GO system.

Unfortunately, we cannot approve time extensions for the NOI due date or the subapplication date. We know many jurisdictions are impacted by recent and ongoing fires, which may prevent participation at this time, but the timeline for this FEMA program is unyielding. If you are unable to submit an NOI for FMA, please watch for upcoming funding opportunities in the Hazard Mitigation Assistance Program (HMGP).


Notice of Interest:

Access the Engage CalOES Portal to log-in and complete your Notice of Interest. You will need to create an account if you do not already have one.

NOI User Guide: Please utilize the NOI User Guide for help creating an account and for a preview of the NOI questions.

Other resources: FEMA Hazard Mitigation Assistance Guidance

Submit questions to: HMA@caloes.ca.gov

Here is the link to the FEMA GO portal.