Flood Mitigation Assistance

The Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) is authorized by Section 1366 of the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968, as amended (NFIA), 42 U.S.C. 4104c, with the goal of reducing or eliminating claims under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

FMA was created as part of the National Flood Insurance Reform Act (NFIRA) of 1994. The Biggert-Waters Flood Insurance Act of 2012 (Public Law 112-141) consolidated the Repetitive Flood Loss and Severe Repetitive Loss grant programs into FMA. FMA funding is available through the National Flood Insurance Fund (NFIF) for flood hazard mitigation projects as well as plan development and is appropriated by Congress. For more information on the FMA program please visit FEMA’s Resources for the Flood Mitigation Assistance Grant Program. 

FMA Notice of Funding Opportunity and Fact Sheet Documents

The FMA Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) and FMA Progress Reporting documents provide additional program information, applicant eligibility criteria, and grant award terms for FMA funding applicants.

FMA NOFO (Fiscal Year 2023)

Swift Current – Flood Mitigation Assistance

NOIs due via the Cal OES Engage Portal January 19, 2024

The State of California has been allocated $20M for the Fiscal Year 2023 Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Swift Current program.

FMA Notice of Interest (NOI) and Subapplication Due Dates 

NOIs due to Cal OES via Engage Portal by October 27, 2023

Subapplications must be submitted in FEMA GO by December 13, 2023

FMA Applicant Eligibility Criteria

Local governments, including cities, townships, counties, special district governments, and tribal governments (including federally recognized tribes who choose to apply as subapplicants), are considered subapplicants and must submit subapplications to their state/territory/tribal applicant agency. Certain political subdivisions (i.e., regional flood control districts or county governments) may apply and act as subapplicants if they are part of a community participating in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) where the political subdivision provides zoning and building code enforcement or planning and community development professional services for that community. Contact information for the State Hazard Mitigation Officers (SHMOs) is provided on the FEMA website.

All subapplicants must be participating in the NFIP, and not be withdrawn, on probation, or suspended. Structures identified in the subapplication must have an NFIP policy in effect at the FMA application start date and must maintain it through completion of the mitigation activity and for the life of the structure. NFIP community status can be verified on FEMA’s website.

FMA Subapplication Process

You must submit a Notice of Interest (NOI) to Cal OES to be eligible. Approved NOIs will result in an invitation to submit a full BRIC or FMA subapplication via FEMA’s web-based FEMA GO system.

Unfortunately, we cannot approve time extensions for the NOI due date or the subapplication date. We know many jurisdictions are impacted by recent and ongoing fires, which may prevent participation at this time, but the timeline for this FEMA program is unyielding. If you are unable to submit an NOI for BRIC or FMA, please watch for upcoming funding opportunities in the Hazard Mitigation Assistance Program (HMGP).

Completing your Notice of Interest (NOI)

Access the Engage CalOES Portal to log-in and complete your Notice of Interest. You will need to create an account if you do not already have one.

Please utilize the NOI User Guide for help creating an account and for a preview of the NOI questions. If you are in need of technical assistance, please send an email to HMA@caloes.ca.gov.

Accessing FEMA Grants Outcome (FEMA GO) for Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grants

Access the FEMA GO  grants management system to apply for the Building Resilient Infrastructures and Communities (BRIC) and Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) annual competitive programs.

FEMA GO will replace the legacy Mitigation eGrants, which will remain online to manage fiscal year 2019 and prior year grants. General questions about the BRIC and FMA grant programs can be directed to the appropriate State Hazard Mitigation Officer (SHMO), or you can contact your FEMA Regional Office.