
     

  
  

 

         
        

         
          

           
 

         
           

            
            

       
         

            

 

          
      

         
        

        
       

  
             

        

         
             

          
        

        
             

       
         

         
          

          
       

State of California  
Governor’s Office of Emergency 
Services Chapter I - Standards 

9-1-1 OPERATIONS MANUAL 
CHAPTER I-STANDARDS

By Legislative authority (California Government Code, Section 53114.2), the 
Governor's Office of Emergency Services, Public Safety Communications, 
California 9-1-1 Emergency Communications Branch (CA 9-1-1 Branch) has 
established mandatory standards to provide the fastest, most reliable, and 
cost-effective telephone access to emergency services for any 9-1-1 caller in 
California. 

The CA 9-1-1 Branch has the responsibility to monitor all emergency 
communication systems related to the delivery of a 9-1-1 call to ensure 
they comply with these standards. CA 9-1-1 Branch has the authority to 
audit and request data on any items being funded from the State 
Emergency Telephone Number Account (SETNA). The entire 9-1-1 
Operations Manual (Manual) and other CA 9-1-1 Branch documents may 
be viewed and downloaded from the CA 9-1-1 Branch website, as follows: 

http://www.caloes.ca.gov/cal-oes-divisions/public-safety-communications/ca-
9-1-1-emergency-communications-branch/ca-9-1-1-operations-manual 

A comprehensive range of recommended standards is offered on the 
National Emergency Number Association (NENA) website at: www.nena.org 
(select "Standards and Other Documents"). The website includes: NENA 
recommended technical standards for Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) 
equipment and back-up power, PSAP security, PSAP operations, 
9-1-1 networks, wireless carriers and many more topics.

MANDATORY STANDARDS 
In the interest of public safety and successful delivery of 9-1-1 calls in the 
State of California, the following standards are required: 

General Standards - These general standards are intended to maintain 
clarity for the public in the proper use of "9-1-1" in a manner that supports fast 
and reliable access to emergency services in California. (These standards 
are in alphabetical order with no priority of compliance.) 

1. 9-1-1 Misuse - Individuals who knowingly and intentionally disrupt or
report a false crime to 9-1-1 may be charged a fine of $1,000 to
$10,000 and/or jail time for less than one (1) year (Penal Code Section
148.3). Individuals that willfully use 9-1-1 for any purpose other than
reporting emergencies may be charged progressive fines from $50 to
$250 (Penal Code Section 653y). Examples of this misuse include calls
to 9-1-1 for driving directions, directory assistance, and to report the
grass along the freeway needs to be mowed.
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2. 9-1-1 Numeral Usage -The numerals "9-1-1" shall not be used in any 
way that may confuse or be misleading to the public. 

3. 9-1-1 Published Number - The primary published emergency 
telephone number shall be 9-1-1 and will be the only number on the 
"Emergency" page of the telephone directory. 

4. Automatic 9-1-1 Dialing - Alarm companies or other entities that do 
not qualify as a public safety agency (a public agency that 
provides law enforcement, fire, medical or other emergency 
services) shall not program equipment to automatically dial 9-1-1. 

5. Proper Use and Display of "9-1-1" - Private companies, such as 
ambulance or other service providers, shall not use the numerals 9-1-
1 in the name of their company nor may they list 9-1-1 in the 
telephone directory without written authorization from the PSAPs that 
will be affected by the listing. When 9-1-1 is authorized, the 
ambulance companies must also list a seven-digit telephone 
number for non-emergency calls. 

CA 9-1-1 Network Standards -All equipment and service providers offering 
9-1-1 functionality (by means of wireless, Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP), 
and other technologies in the California 9-1-1 Network) shall accommodate 
the most recent CA 9-1-1 Branch policies and procedures provided in this 
Manual and on the CA 9-1-1 Branch website. Funding from the SETNA by 
the CA 9-1-1 Branch is contingent upon adherence to the following 
mandatory standards. (These standards are in alphabetical order with no 
priority of compliance.) 

1. 9-1-1 Lines/Trunks -All 9-1-1 lines/trunks in the California 9-1-1 Network 
that are funded by the CA 9-1-1 Branch must be pre-approved by the 
CA 9-1-1 Branch. All 9-1-1 lines/trunks in the California 9-1-1 Network 
that are directly billed to and paid for by the public safety agency 
must meet "tariff' conditions and must be reviewed by the 
CA 9-1-1 Branch before service is established. 

2. Circuit Protection - Protected 9-1-1 circuits shall not be opened, 
grounded, 
short-circuited, or manipulated in any way unless the appropriate PSAP 
has released the circuit. 

3. Emergency Service Number (ESN) - Every primary PSAP will have ESNs 
exclusively for routing landline 9-1-1 calls and ESNs exclusively for 
routing wireless 9-1-1 calls. 
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4. Grade of Service - Network service providers shall take periodic service 
measurements on the 9-1-1 trunk groups to ensure a minimum grade 
of service of P.01. This means no more than one (1) busy signal per 100 
attempts. These measurements shall also be taken at the request of 
public safety agencies. Participating public safety agencies and the 
CA 9-1-1 Branch will be notified of the results of Probability (P) Grade 
of Service measurements out of compliance. 

5. Outage Notification - All equipment and network providers shall 
provide 9-1-1 Outage Notification Procedures to the CA 9-1-1 Branch 
for implementation in the event of a 
9-1-1 outage where the outage may cause a significant impact to the 
delivery of 9-1-1 calls in California. Examples include the following: 

a. Inability of the PSAP to process 9-1-1 emergency calls; that is, the 
loss of a PSAP's ability to perform the required 9-1-1 call transfers or 
communications due to 9-1-1 equipment or network failure. 

b. Inability of the public to contact their local or regional PSAP by 
dialing "9-1-1". 

c. Community isolation: any situation that disrupts the ability of an area 
or community to communicate outside their local area over the 9-1-
1 communications network is considered a PSAP isolation. 

6. Trunking - PSAP line/trunk requirements shall be determined by the 
number of 9-1-1 calls and specific transfer functions. All 9-1-1 calls shall 
receive the same level of priority and call handling. The CA 9-1-1 
Branch shall authorize added or reduced trunking based upon call 
volume analysis. See# 1, "9-1-1 Lines/Trunks" standard. 

Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) Standards - PSAP funding from the 
SETNA by the CA 9-1-1 Branch is contingent upon adherence to the 
following mandatory standards. (These standards are in alphabetical order 
with no priority of compliance.) 

1. Automatic Location Identification (ALI) Format - PSAPs shall 
accommodate the most current ALI standard for the State of 
California, currently "Format 04", in any equipment replacement or 
upgrade. 

2. Call Answer Time Within Fifteen (15) Seconds Ninety-five (95) percent of 
incoming 
9-1-1 calls shall be answered within fifteen (15) seconds. The CA 9-1-1 
Branch realizes that unpredictable spikes may occur and will take 
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abnormalities into consideration when reviewing statistics. 

3. Call Data Reporting (CDR) Connectivity - PSAPs shall accommodate 
connectivity of 
9-1-1 call-taker Customer Premise Equipment (CPE), funded by the CA 
9-1-1 Branch, to the CDR system within 30 days of system installation. 
Any intentional manipulation to the 9-1-1 call data may result in 
reduction of CA 9-1-1 Branch funding to PSAP. 

4. Call Transfers - When transferring a 9-1-1 call, procedures will be 
developed for advising the 9-1-1 caller that the call is being transferred 
and to remain on the line. Every effort should be made to minimize the 
number 9-1-1 call transfers. 

5. Hours of Operation - Each PSAP funded by the CA 9-1-1 Branch shall 
be staffed with 9-1-1 call-taker(s) and committed to answer 9-1-1 
calls 24 hours per day, every day of the year, for a minimum of five (5) 
years. Exception to this requirement is supported for "grandfathered" 
PSAPs (agencies that received CA 9-1-1 Branch CPE funding prior to 
December 2001 with limited hours of operation). However, we 
encourage all PSAPs funded by the CA 9-1-1 Branch in 
"grandfathered" status to consider consolidation or extend to full 
compliance with this standard. 

6. Network Connections - Each PSAP shall have a minimum of two (2) 
trunks to a Selective Router (S/R) and trunks will be augmented 
based upon maintaining a typical 
P.01 grade of service and call volume. {This requirement exceeds the 
minimum recommendations by NENA.) 

7. Non-published Emergency Number(s) - Each PSAP shall have a 
minimum of one (1) non-published ten digit 9-1-1 number for 
emergency call transfers. 

8. Protective Devices - All facilities and equipment associated with 9-1-1 
service shall be provided with protective devices to prevent 
accidental workman contact. Each protected termination shall be 
clearly identified. Protected 9-1-1 circuits will not be opened, 
grounded, short-circuited, or manipulated in any way unless the 
appropriate PSAP has released the circuit. 

9. Transfer Numbers - PSAPs shall provide their 10-digit emergency 
numbers to entities requiring a backup number to route to, or other 
service providers not delivering calls into the 9-1-1 network. 
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