

FACT SHEET



Reporting Petroleum (Oil) Releases

December 2018

REPORTING PETROLEUM (OIL) RELEASES:

Proper and timely notification is imperative to allow government agencies and downstream users to take prompt action to protect public health and safety, the environment, and property. The purpose of this Fact Sheet is to help clarify the reporting requirements for oil related releases in California.

If the release of oil in any way **causes harm or threatens to cause harm** to public health and safety, the environment, or property you must make immediate notification to the California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) Warning Center [Health and Safety Code (HSC) §25510].

State Law requires that **ANY** discharge or threatened discharge of oil into **STATE WATERS** must be reported to Cal OES [California Government Code (GC) §8670.25.5; California Water Code (WC) §13272, *California State Oil Spill Contingency Plan*]. Upon such notifications, Cal OES will then immediately notify the Department of Fish and Wildlife/Office of Spill Prevention and Response (OSPR), Regional Water Quality Control Board (RWQCB), State Lands Commission (SLC), the California Coastal Commission (CCC), Division of Oil, Gas, and Geothermal Resources (DOGGR) and/or the appropriate Local Administering Agency. [GC §8589.7] These agencies are responsible for determining appropriate public and environmental safety measures and may have additional reporting requirements.

If the release of oil is on **land** and is not discharged or threatening to discharge into State Waters; and (a) does not cause harm or threaten to cause harm to the public health and safety, the environment, or property; AND (b) is under 42 gallons, then no notification to the Cal OES/Warning Center is required.

Report Petroleum (Oil) Releases to:

California Governor's Office of Emergency Services Warning Center

(800) 852-7550 or (916) 845-8911

PENALTIES FOR NOT REPORTING:

Any person who fails to provide the notice required by WC §13272 is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than \$500 or more than \$5,000 per day for each day of failure to notify, or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both, per WC §13272(c).

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

Further information on reporting requirements can be located on the Cal OES Website at www.caloes.ca.gov in the California Hazardous Material Spill/Release Notification Guidance booklet and the California State Oil Spill Contingency Plan. Please call the Cal OES, Hazardous Materials Section for additional question at (916) 845-8788.