Credentialing & Certificate Programs

California Specialized Training Institute
Share This Page

Credentialing and Certificate Programs

The California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services offers three professional recognition programs for emergency management and allied professionals.

The Specialist Certificate Program, initiated in 2008, recognizes individuals who complete a series of core courses and complete at least 72 hours of elective courses or seminars. There are three Specialist Certificates to choose from:

  • Emergency Management

  • Terrorism and Homeland Security

  • Public Information

In partnership with FEMA, the Advanced Professional Series distinguishes emergency managers with substantial expertise in emergency operations and management. Completion of this series demonstrates extraordinary dedication to the goal of protecting lives, communities, and resources from disasters. Professionals who complete 5 required courses and any 5 of 15 elective courses are eligible to receive the certificate of completion.

FEMA Advanced Professional Series Brochure

Working with numerous partner agencies at all levels of government within California, the Governor’s Office of Emergency Services developed a comprehensive Emergency Operations Center (EOC) Position Credentialing Program. This program identifies measures for competency and documents professional qualifications, certifications, training, experience, and education requirements that define basic criteria expected of emergency services personnel serving within an emergency operations center.


Supporting Page