Hazard Mitigation Planning

Hazard Mitigation
Share This Page

​Hazard Mitigation Planning Division

The California Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) Hazard Mitigation Planning Division is responsible for a comprehensive local and state planning program. Mitigation requires the coordinated effort and participation of a wide range of stakeholders and the public in the planning process. Hazard mitigation is the cornerstone of every communities approach to reducing vulnerability to disasters. Hazard mitigation is the only phase of emergency management specifically dedicated to breaking the cycle of damage, reconstruction, and repeated damage. 

The planning process is as important as the resulting plan because it creates a framework for the state of California to reduce the negative impacts from future disasters on lives, property, and the environment.

If you already have a Hazard Mitigation Plan and are seeking information or assistance with a Hazard Mitigation Grant, please go to the page for the 404 Hazard Mitigation Grant Program within Cal OES.


Areas of responsibility for the Hazard Mitigation Planning Division include:

  1. Developing and maintaining the State Hazard Mitigation Plan (SHMP). This includes climate-related planning.
  2. Implementing and administering, in cooperation with local governments and communities, training and technical assistance on Local Hazard Mitigation Plan (LHMP) development. 
  3. Assessing and reviewing LHMPs in a fair and consistent manner and ensuring approved LHMPs meet the requirements of the Stafford Act and Title 44 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) §201.6 prior to their submittal to FEMA for approval.

Mitigation Planning Contacts:

Manager:

Adam Sutkus, Program Manager and Chief

Email: Adam.Sutkus@caloes.ca.gov
Desk phone: 916.845.8187


State Hazard Mitigation Plan (SHMP):

Megan Walton, Senior Emergency Services Coordinator (Lead)

Email: Megan.Walton@CalOES.ca.gov
Desk phone: 916.845.8766

Brett Hoffstadt, Associate Governmental Program Analyst

Email: Brett.Hoffstadt@CalOES.ca.gov
Desk phone: 916.845.8347

Local Hazard Mitigation Plans (LHMPs):

Victoria LaMar-Haas, Senior Emergency Services Coordinator (Lead)

Email: Victoria.LaMar-Haas@CalOES.ca.gov
Desk phone: 916.845.8135

Karen McCready-Hoover, Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Karen.McCready-Hoover@CalOES.ca.gov
Desk phone: 916.845.8177

Carly Landry, Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Carly.Landry@CalOES.ca.gov
Desk phone: 916.845.8769

Derek Lambeth, Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Derek.Lambeth@CalOES.ca.gov
Desk phone: 916.845.8493

Kelly Riley, Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Kelly.Riley@CalOES.ca.gov
Desk phone: 916.845.8236


Program Support:

Nan Russell

Email: Nan.Russell@CalOES.ca.gov
Desk phone: 916.845.8809

Special Projects:

Sarah Risher, CivicSpark Climate Fellow

Email: Sarah.Risher@CalOES.ca.gov
Desk phone: 916.845.8319

Ken Worman, Retired Annuitant (former State Hazard Mitigation Officer)

Email: Ken.Worman@CalOES.ca.gov
Desk phone: 916.845.8169

Lupe Humphrey, Retired Annuitant

Email: Lupe.Humphrey@CalOES.ca.gov
Desk phone: 916.845.8197

 

 

 

 

 

Supporting Page