Hazard Mitigation Planning

Hazard Mitigation
Share This Page

​Mitigation Planning Units

The California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) has two units focused on mitigation planning: the State Mitigation Planning and the Local Mitigation Planning. These units are responsible for a comprehensive local and state planning program. Mitigation requires the coordinated effort and participation of a wide range of stakeholders and the public in the planning process. Hazard mitigation is the cornerstone of every communities approach to reducing vulnerability to disasters. Hazard mitigation is the only phase of emergency management specifically dedicated to breaking the cycle of damage, reconstruction, and repeated damage. 

The planning process is as important as the resulting plan because it creates a framework for the State of California to reduce the negative impacts from future disasters on lives, property, and the environment.

If you already have a Hazard Mitigation Plan and are seeking information or assistance with a Hazard Mitigation Grant, please go to the page for the 404 Hazard Mitigation Grant Program within Cal OES.

Areas of responsibility for the two Mitigation Planning Divisions include:

  1. Developing and maintaining the State Hazard Mitigation Plan (SHMP). This includes the 2020 California Adaption Planning Guide, a framework for climate-related planning.

  2. Implementing and administering, in cooperation with local governments and communities, training and technical assistance on Local Hazard Mitigation Plan (LHMP) development. 

  3. Assessing and reviewing LHMPs in a fair and consistent manner and ensuring approved LHMPs meet the requirements of the Stafford Act and Title 44 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) §201.6 prior to their submittal to FEMA for approval.

Mitigation Planning Contacts

Hazard Mitigation Planning Division

Jose Lara, Division Chief

Email: Jose.Lara@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8883

Layla Candelaria, Office Technican

Email: Layla.Candelaria@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8616


State Mitigation Planning

Kendall Skillicorn, Unit Chief

Email: Kendall.Skillicorn@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8882 

Kasmira Kit, Senior Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Kasmira.Kit@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8806

Matt Munoz, Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Matt.Munoz@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: TBA

Laura Emmons, Civic Spark Climate Fellow, Special Projects

Email: Laura.Emmons@CalOES.ca.gov


For general questions and/or inquiries regarding the State Hazard Mitigation Plan:

Shared Unit Inbox: SHMP@CalOES.ca.gov


Local Mitigation Planning

Victoria La Mar-Haas, Unit Chief

Email: Victoria.LaMar-Haas@CalOES.ca.gov|Desk phone: 916.845.8531

Phillip John Labra, Senior Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Phillip.Labra@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8420

Karen McCready-Hoover, Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Karen.McCready-Hoover@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8177

Ana Miscolta, Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Ana.Miscolta@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: TBA


For general questions and/or inquiries regarding Local Hazard Mitigation Plans:

Shared Unit Inbox: mitigationplanning@caloes.ca.gov

 

 

 

 

 

Supporting Page